Jan 20, 2020 351


National Bank of Australia was formed as the National Corporation of Commercial Banking Australia Limited in the year 1982 by the merger of National Bank of Australasia and Commercial Bank of the Company of Sydney. The resulting company was later renamed National Australia Bank Limited. The merged entity's expanded financial base resulted in significant offshore expansion during the following years. Representative offices were established in Beijing (1982), Chicago (branch office in 1982), Dallas (1983), Seoul (1983, improved in a branch in 1990), San Francisco (1984), Kuala Lumpur, Frankfurt , Atlanta (1986), Bangkok (1986), Taipei (1986 improved to 1990), Shanghai (1988 closed 1990), Houston (1989) and New Delhi (1989).

He overhauled the branches of Northern Bank in the Republic of Ireland an Irish National Bank and changed the logos of both banks of the Bank of Midland. In 1990, NAB bought Yorkshire Bank (England and Wales).This period of rapid expansion through acquisition was completed by purchases in 1997 of HomeSide Lending, one of the leading mortgage and mortgage services companies in the United States based in Florida, and more significantly the acquisition in 2000 of MLC Limited And MLC related entities for US $ 4.56bn.

The largest mergers in Australian corporate history.National Australia Bank is one of the Australia's 4th largest financial system in terms of market capitalization and customers. NAB was ranked 21st largest bank in the world measured by market capitalization and the 41 largest bank in the world as measured by Total assets in 2014. NAB operates 1,590 branches and service centers and 4,412 MT in Australia, New Zealand and Asia for 12.7 million customers.

CHAIRMAN: Kenneth R Henry AC

CEO : Andrew Thorburn