Jan 20, 2020 351


The Thane Bharat Sahakari Bank Ltd., established in 1979, is one of the leading cooperative banks in the Thane district. Since its inception, the Bank has grown by leaps and bounds with 24 branches across Mumbai, Thane, Raigad and Pune districts. (As of 03.33.2016)

At the time of the creation of the Bank, that is, in the late 1970s, there were only 2 Cooperative Banks in the city of Thane. The city of Thane, located in the growing industrial belt on the one hand, and equidistant to the western side on Ghodbunder Road to Karjat, Kasara and also Mumbai on the other, was developing vertically and horizontally, which resulted in the growth of Population belonging to all strata of society. Naturally, the need for another bank was evident. 

On September 25, 1978, the Bank's first General Meeting was held on October 28, 1978, and at that meeting a Team of the first Board of Directors was elected. Dr. V.N.Bedekar was elected as President and Mr. M.Y.Gokhale as Vice President.

The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) License for the opening of the Bank was obtained on April 19, 1979 and on the auspicious day of 'Akshaya Tritiya', on April 29, 1979, the Bank was opened at the hands of the Note economist at the time, Dr.VMDandekar. The Bank began to operate in spacious premises in 'Shatataraka', with its Administrative Office and the first Branch to know. Main branch. On March 8, 2003, the Bank received the status of 'Scheduled Bank'.


CHAIRMAN: Madhav Yashwant Gokhale