Jan 20, 2020 351


Westpac Banking Corporation is one of the four major banks in Australia along with competitors National Australia Bank, Commonwealth Bank of Australia, the Australia Group and New Zealand Banking. The Bank was founded in 1817 and incorporated in 1850 as the Bank of New South Wales. In 1982, the bank merged with the Commercial Bank of Australia Limited, the name is derived from the area was established that worked historically - Western Pacific.

The company serves more than eight million customers - both retail and commercial - and provide banking, investment, insurance and various other financial services. Operations in Australia, representing 68 percent of the profits, while New Zealand believes 18 percent, and other areas to support the remaining 14 percent.


CHAIRMAN: Lindsay Maxsted